The Oxford Inter-Varsity Debating Competition, hosted by the world-famous Oxford Union, is one of the largest and most prestigious debating competitions on the IONA university circuit, and indeed globally.

This year, the Oxford IV will take place on November 10 and 11, 2017. It will include:

  • Five preliminary rounds of 7 minute speeches, breaking to Quarter Finals, ESL Semi Finals and novice Grand Final
  • Unbeatable judging led by a CA team of outstanding calibre, experienced at the highest levels of international debating
  • All Grand Finals hosted in the famous Oxford Union Chamber
  • 140 team cap
  • Introductory debating workshops led by members of our world-class CA team
  • Novice Grand Final and Best Novice Speaker prize

Listed below are past results and previous champions.

Be sure to register to have the opportunity to add your name to this list!

Past Results

Oxford IV 2016 Tab (Novice Tab)
Oxford IV 2015 Tab

Oxford IV 2014 Tab
Oxford IV 2013 Tab and further results
Grant Thornton Oxford IV 2012 Tab
Morgan Stanley Oxford IV 2011 Tab
Oxford IV 2010 Tab
PricewaterhouseCoopers Oxford IV 2009
PricewaterhouseCoopers Oxford IV 2008 Tab
PricewaterhouseCoopers Oxford IV 2007 Tab
PricewaterhouseCoopers Oxford IV 2006 Tab
PricewaterhouseCoopers Oxford IV 2005 Tab
PricewaterhouseCoopers Oxford IV 2004 Tab
PricewaterhouseCoopers Oxford IV 2003 Tab

Previous winners of the Oxford IV

Year Winning Institution Winning Team Members Best Individual Speaker
2016 Cambridge John Papantoniou and Kit Mercer Evan Lynyak (Yale)
2015 Cambridge John Papantoniou and Thomas Simpson Michael Dunn Goekjian (PEP)
2014 Hart House Veenu Goswami and Joe McGrade Michael Dunn Goekjian (Cambridge) and Veenu Goswami (Hart House)
2013 Loyola Marymout University Colin Etnire and Kirkor Kouyoumdjian Ashish Kumar (Cambridge)
2012 Hart House Veenu Goswami and Josh Stark Fred Cowell (ULU)
2011 Sydney Daniel Swain and Elle Jones Pam Cohn (Durham)
2010 London School of Economics John Ashbourne and Anser Aftab Sam Block (Manchester)
2009 Yale Grant May and Steven Kryger Adam Goldstein (MIT)
2008 Middle Temple Daniel Warents and Doug Cochran Daniel Warents (Middle Temple)
2007 Cambridge Adam Bott and Sam Block Kevin Kiley (Loyola Marymount)
2006 Yale Dave Denton and Adam Chilton Adam Chilton (Yale)
2005 Cambridge David Tite and Adam Bott Beth O’Connor (Yale)
2004 Cambridge Patrick Emerson and Harriet Jones-Fenleigh Seb Isaac (Lincoln’s Inn)
2003 City University Seb Isaac and Simon Milnes Seb Isaac (City)

One Comment

  1. Pingback: Debate Team Competes in Hong Kong, Oxford - The Gazelle

Comments are closed.